Lovedrug - 2015 - Kayla - Surico
Photo By Kayla Surico

LOVEDRUG is an alternative pop/rock band from Nashville, TN. Melding purist indie rock ethic with the immense sounds of stadium-prog, Lovedrug refuse to recognize a dichotomy between art and mass appeal. While the euro-bent of their debut LP Pretend You’re Alive frequently evoked Muse and pre-electronic Radiohead comparisons, Lovedrug embrace broader musical peers. Defining their own unique space between indie pillars (Modest Mouse, Sunny Day Real Estate) and super-size rock (Soundgarden, Nirvana), chief protagonist Michael Shepard’s otherworldly vocals set intriguing tales against a massive sonic backdrop.

The band, originally hailing from Alliance, OH, was formed in 2002 by frontman Michael Shepard. Since its inception, the band has seen success on the Billboard charts, toured internationally, and shared the stage with acts such as The Killers, Robert Plant, Cat Power, Silversun Pickups, Eagles of Death Metal, Nine Inch Nails, and Kings of Leon.

The Deluxe edition of their fifth studio album, Notions, was released on April 15, 2016 and features remixes by EthniKids and Cory Nelson of Canopy Climbers. In the fall of 2015 and spring of 2016, the band toured heavily in support of the new album. The band also released a double LP limited deluxe edition vinyl of their debut album, Pretend You’re Alive, through a crowd-funding campaign run directly through their website. 

“Michael Shepard keeps pushing himself into new sounds; the guy never stands still–a true pioneering artist. Well done once again, and always with the most compelling lyrics in the industry. Crushingly poetic, both culturally and personally.” – iTunes Customer Review

“They are incredible live. The energy is brilliant”. – Elizabeth

“Of course, anything goes at one of Lovedrug’s crackling live shows.” – Chicago Inner View




Pretend You’re Alive, 2004

  • Fastest selling debut in Militia Group history
  • Billboard debut: #4 for Internet Sales and #43 for Independent Albums
  • Upstreamed to Columbia Records in January 2005

“Lovedrug’s abstract lyrics, are equally captivating, and complimented perfectly by the bands strong musicianship.” – Alternative Addiction

“Pretend You’re Alive is front-loaded, with “Blackout”, “Spiders” and “Rock N Roll” being nothing short of glorious. Anger, mystery, energy and poetry are at their full formed best on this record.” – The Strand


Everything Starts Where It Ends, 2007

  • Debuted #162 on Billboard 200 and #5 on Heatseekers

“Simply put, Lovedrug has set the bar for 2007, and this year’s future releases are going to have a hell of a time playing catch-up.” – Absolute Punk

“…it’s pretty amazing to hear a record that covers just about every style in the American modern rock canon, while still remaining so fundamentally distinctive.” – Pop Matter


The Sucker Punch Show, 2008

  • European Release: June 2, 2009 (Make My Day Records)

“The Sucker Punch Show is every bit the sonic leap forward one would hope for from these arena–leaning indie rockers.”  –

“…the album is a nice de­par­ture from the norm, with plenty of songs to “rock out” to while speed­ing down the interstate.” – Eagles Nest


Wild Blood, 2012

  • #9 Billboard Heatseeker
  • iTunesTop 10 Rock Chart; featured New & Noteworthy (Rock, Alternative)

“Dark and lovely, addictive as the band’s name suggests.” – PASTE

“Evocative lyrics with a danceable, clap-along rhythm…gorgeous” – Music Without Labels

“Lovedrug knew what they were doing when they wrote Wild Blood.” – Relevant Magazine


Notions, 2015

“Lovedrug once again produces a set of catchy singles dripping with everything that had me falling in love with the band back in 2004 when they first burst onto the scene with Pretend You’re Alive. …Lovedrug crafts an album that is both beautifully dark and dazzlingly bright.” – Under Bright Lights

“What another great album from this killer band…This album starts off strong with Anthology and Vampire Spy Film (now I want to hear these guys score a vampire spy film!) and captivates you ‘til the final seconds of Death Becomes Us–which subconsciously convinces you to start the album again. Bravo, Lovedrug!” – iTunes Customer Review